top of page
Writer's pictureSheryl Tagab

One Who Listens, Doesn't Judge

"A good friend is like a four-leaf clover: hard to find and lucky to have" -Irish Proverb

Friendship, particularly a close and trusting friendship, is essential for the positive social and psychological welfare of those involved in the relationship. I had some wonderful friends in my life and I feel very fortunate to have such great people like them. One of them is you, “bi” Venus Eyas. Growing up, you are one of my special friends who shows me that the true heart of a person is what really counts. I got you during my broken times and I treasure you as one of the beautiful unexpected gifts that happened in my life. You are truly “one of a kind.”


Do you remember how we met, dear? It was the first day when I shifted a course from AB to BSED English. I have seen you in campus but I do not know you yet. I never forgot the line you said when we were in the library (the first activity that I became part of the English Family) and you said, “welcome to English majors.” I was shy at that time since I was not expected that you are one of those approachable and cheerful persons in the English squad. Guess what? That was the time that I counted you as my new friend in the new chapter of my life. Ironically speaking, my first impressions about you were strict, unforthcoming woman and a mean one, however, these first impressions remain at the stage of the first impression, those did not last forever. Many days, weeks, and months had passed, we talked, we shared (bad and good situations), we ate together (in our boarding house) and I noticed how you cried over a person or other stuff. Kidding aside, I love the way you cry (Kim Chui left the group). However, seeing you with a great smile and enjoying the things you loved made me realize that you are a great person who conquers everything that you deserved.


As time goes by, I remembered how our conversation via messenger started so deeply and that was the day you shared about your crush (both the happiest moment and an aching one). I think I considered chatting with you as a memorable one because we received each other’s wisdom that helps us to heal from the things we did not share with others. That time, I felt so overwhelmed due to the fact that you counted me as your listener to your private life happening. Unexpectedly, you did the same to me when my heart broke into pieces. Remember, you asked forgiveness for being unaware that I got hurt every time you teased them to each other? Indeed, you became my shoulder to cry during that time. Even if it is through chat, I felt your presence the way you made advice and you comforted me as your sister. We saw each other in person, you often said “it’s okay” and our eyes spoke. Even though we do not have memorable memories physically, our friendship is still a wonderful thing that happened to me. In fact, our situation today proves that we may not see each other physically but the spirit of friendship is still there (I can still be your listener).


Every now and then, I need trustworthy friends who will listen to me, provide emotional support, and empathy. This is the kind of interpersonal relationship I aspire to have and I thank God for your life. I did not make many friends because I did not go out of my way to make friends in the first place. All I want is my small circle (including you) and together we could conquer the world. I am beyond grateful since we trusted one another with our deepest secrets without any form of judgment. Thank you and I love you. See you soonest, dear.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page